Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-18 - 10:52 a.m.

I edited my profile yesterday, to include the Jack Johnson CD in my favorite music, and it wiped out half of what I had in my profile. Apparently if you like Jack Johnson, you can only have one favorite band, one favorite movie, and no favorite books. What a pain in the ass.

Wednesday night, I invited Murphy to come over for some dinner. He wrote a song for me, and it is very good. He's gotten really good at guitar. We watched Jackass the movie, then MST3K "I Accuse My Parents," the best one in my opinion. I killed a bottle of wine all by myself, and had a beer or two. Then, Jon showed up. I was annoyed. He knew I had company! He said he called before he came, which he did, but I didn't answer the phone because I think it's rude to pick up the phone when I have company. I figure if it's important, they'll call back again and again. I tried my best not to show my annoyance, because I also think it's rude to yell at someone in front of someone else. Eventually Murphy left, and I let Jon know that I was irritated that he just showed up like that. Then I pretty much passed out due to all the alcohol.

Yesterday, Jon came over again, and I was more sober to give him a piece of my mind. I think he's preoccupied with the fact that he's leaving soon to go to Columbia, and I won't be here when he gets back, so we only have this short time together.

Jon's a great guy, and I don't really have a single complaint about him, but that vital spark I'm always looking for in relationships just isn't there with him. This isn't to say that we wouldn't be able to find it, given enough time. But time is something we don't have. Right now, it's enough for me to enjoy the time I have with him. That's pretty much all it is though; enjoyment. Thrilling? Not quite? Close enough for now. Sometimes I wish he'd hurry up and leave, or at least get a date on when he's leaving. I know this ambiguity isn't his fault, but it still annoys me.

So yeah, this weekend wasn't bad, all things considered. I did some reading. I watched some movies. I ate some food. I did end up grocery shopping, and I spent $120, an exorbitant amount for just me. I even cleaned out my van, and I intend on taking it to one of those professional cleaning places before I go to work today.

Something I keep forgetting to mention here in Diaryland, but is the most important thing to happen to me in a long time, is that I have the date of my release from the army.

DECEMBER 20TH!

It's earlier than I originally wanted it to be, but the more I think about it, the more excited I get. I'm going to be home for Christmas! What an amazing Christmas present!

The thing that kills me is that this is all I've wanted for years, to get out of Augusta. When I first got here, I remember wondering how I would ever get though 3 years here. Now that I don't passionately hate work any more, and I'm meeting people I think I'll actually miss when I leave, I get a date to leave.

It's still months away though, and plenty can happen between then and now. Just about everyone I've ever met here and once called friends all hate me now, or at best we don't talk anymore. Something about me being around anyone else in the military. Oil and water, and all those cliches. I've never figured it out.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!