Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-03 - 4:01 p.m.

Here I am, back in Augusta. I'll finish up with the Los Angeles trip before I get into anything else.

Surprisingly, when we went to go get thai food, all the thai restaurants were closed. Apparently, Thai people love Labor Day. We kept driving, willing to go to any restaurant on the way, and actually found a thai food place that was open. The food wasn't all that great, but it served its purpose of filling me up.

We found the theater and paid for our tickets, and had so much time before "Slaves of Starbucks" opened that I suggested we go to Starbucks and have a drink. Brad thought I was just kidding, but there really was a Starbucks just down the street from the theater. Imagine that! My usual Chai drink wasn't on the menu and I remarked on that to Brad, who told me that even though Starbucks is thought of as this massive homogenous corporation, they actually tailor their menu down not only from city to city but neighborhood to neighborhood, based on what people buy there. With that in mind, and the fact that I threw away my drink even though I barely consumed any of it, we went back to the theater.

The play was very entertaining. It was a one man show, about 12 segments of 5 minutes each, and each one different from the last. One of the best ones was the man mimicing being in an airplane and listening to his captain speaking. Aren't you disgusted with yourself, as you consume a choice between an inedible mystery meat on a bed of limp vegetables and an equally inedible dry piece of chicken on cardboard rice. Welcome aboard! GOD IS DEAD! Another good one was him acting like he was giving a breifing to new CIA recruits, training them in DECEPTION. I think my favorite was him showing via a slide show how the Archie comics are like the Third Reich, and being unable to fit Jughead into the picture. Brad leaned over and told me that in one of his classes in college, they actually did study Archie. And the Fresh Prince. I was amused.

The rest of the evening passed without incident. We went back to his apartment, talked for a few hours, and went to sleep. The next morning we got up early and he drove me to the airport; and that was that. I paid $7 for a Sprite and some crappy chips and salsa and that was my breakfast. I couldn't eat the inedible snack sack they gave me because I was thinking about the Slaves of Starbucks scene, so I ate the pretzels only, which were somehow ok to consume. I slept.

Josh picked me up at the airport, and we drove to Outback steakhouse, where we ate a huge dinner. I was in a great mood, having just come back from vacation, and dinner was fun. Unfortunately, I exercised little self restraint and thus was extremely and uncomfortably full, which made the drive somewhat less pleasant than it could have been. We got back to my apartment where there was a note from Jake. "I need to talk to you in person," it said, "please call as soon as you get in." This never ends, I thought. Josh drank a beer and left, and I went over to Jake's, where he revealed that he read this diary, MY diary, and felt betrayed, hurt, etc. Admittedly, there were some things I chose never to tell him. I felt bad, and still feel bad, the way things happened between us. I made a lot of mistakes. I choose to learn from them and move on though, and not dwell on my evil past. It's very hard when Jake is always around and feeling bad because of me, and telling me about it. I just want to let it go and move on. How selfish I'm being, I know. I'm going to watch a movie with him tonight at least.

So after the latest Jake confrontation, I went over to Josh's and drank and watched some Mr. Show. I went to sleep on the floor. I woke up feeling ill, stomach flu ill not hangover ill, threw up, and went home and slept for about 4 hours. Woke up and felt better, although my stomach is still not 100%. Now that I'm thinking about my stomach, I'm feeling ill again. Stupid power of suggetion.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!