Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-13 - 11:23 p.m.

SO! Wesley Clark is out of the race and has thrown his support to Kerry. I'm bummed. Wes Clark was the best democratic candidate and he would have made an excellent president. So now what?

I've been doing some reading on Kerry and the more I read about him, the more I like him. His record of Vietnam service and returning to help found Vietnam Veterans Against the War is very intreguing to me. This along with his record in the Senate seems to show that he's capable of changing his mind in trying to make the best decision. The ability to change one's mind is so important to me these days. There's a lot of different things about him that I really like. One of these days I'm going to have to sit down and do some throrough reading and write down all the pros and cons of voting for Kerry. I never really considered voting for any candidate other than Clark after doing some preliminary reading on the candidates. For some reason, it never occured to me that Wes Clark would drop out before the primaries hit Minnesota, especially after he won Arizona.

In more local news...

Wednesday night, Seth and I met after work at Solera, a tapas restaurant downtown. It was recently voted one of the top ten best new restaurants in the WORLD. I did some reading online about it before we went, and I was so hyped up to go that nothing would have reached my expectations... or so you'd think. But Solera was wonderful. Seth and I sat at the bar and ate, and talked with the bartender, who was very knowledgable about everything on the menu. I asked about having the best sherry with my meal, since Solera purportedly has one of the best sherry wine lists that you can find anywhere. This bartender was so proud of the sherry that even though I only ordered one glass, Seth and I ended up being given two half glasses of two other kinds of sherry so we could compare the different kinds to gain a better appreciation of the world of sherries. We ordered 4 tapas to split, and a tapas dessert. Everything was delicious! And I love bartenders who love talking in great detail to the customers about everything the restaurant has to offer. I had a lot of fun there, and I hope to go back there with him very soon. It's a little bit too expensive to be a regular there, but nice enough to go back regularly enough.

The point of our dinner was not only to spend time together and check out this restaurant Solera that we'd heard so much about, but also to kill time before our haircuts. Haircuts! As I may have wrote about last summer when Seth came to visit me, his haircut was atrocious. Normally I don't notice these things, but it looked like Seth didn't even pay a modicum of attention to himself, like he didn't care about himself. It screamed low self-esteem to me. He could be the most attractive guy in the bar if he would just clean himself up. This is just my opinion of course and I could be way off base. In any event, I decided that my Christmas present to him this year would be to get him a haircut at a nice salon. Coincidentally I needed one too. So I made an appointment for both of us at 7:55 that evening. Plenty of time for a nice, unhurried meal, which turned out to be so wonderful.

After that we took the long way around back to Minnetonka and then to the salon. The hair stylest did a great job with him. My hair pretty much looks the same, except shorter. The best part was how happy Seth looked and how proud of his snazzy new haircut he seemed to be. I don't know if he looked better because of the better haircut or because of how happy he seemed about it. Probably both.

Seth paid for dinner as my Christmas present. It was a nice surprise. He was also the most pleasant to be with that he's been in a long time. He's going to Brazil for Carnival in less than a week; I hope he meets some hot latina down there. He deserves to have a good time.

My mom asked why I don't want to date him, and I couldn't answer. Attraction is a strange thing. Either you are or you aren't, and a lot of the time there's no concrete reason you can voice properly for one way or the other. One thing I've noticed in myself is that once I've been attracted to someone and it didn't work out for whatever reason, I've never returned to finding them attractive. Years ago now, I had a crush on Seth in high school. Ironically it was because of his hair; he had long, long hair, and I was in love with the idea of guys with long hair back then. A lot of time has passed now and even though nothing ever happened between us, I don't think I'll ever return to finding him attractive in any way other than detached. I think he's attractive without having a desire to have any sort of physical relationship, and I can't see this changing. He's like my brother. Who also happens to be a good looking guy.

Thursday I carpooled downtown with Jacob, because we were going to the rush line at the Guthrie to see Crowns, that beautiful production, and there was no way to take the bus home from there so late. Unfortunately our plans were dashed by the fact that the play was sold out. We would have been able to purchase some, maybe, for full price, and they would have been seats nowhere near each other. But Jacob was unwilling to wait for that oppertunity, and I didn't mind so much. Sometimes I think things happen for a reason. If we had seen the play, would we have gotten in a car accident on the way home? Something told me that it wasn't entirely a bad thing that we weren't able to see it, and I wasn't terribly disappointed about the turn of events.

We walked through the Walker, which was free on Thursdays, and decided to go back to the house to play Scrabble. I was trounced. In all fairness, Jacob got almost all the high scoring letters as well as most of the s's. But he also played a hell of a game. I drove him home later on, and it was very nice to spend some time with him. Arne gets in town from Germany tonight. Unfortunately things just work out due to them going to Duluth this weekend and me going to Georgia next weekend that Arne and I, along with Jacob, only have 3 days to spend together. I hope to go out to dinner with them at Figlio's, using a whatchamacallit.. gift certificate that I got this Christmas. I promised Jimmie that I'd wait to use it until he came back up here. I see now that I was just trying to bribe him to come up here and in a lot of ways I think we've moved beyond the bribe stage in our relationship. He sent me flowers for Valentine's Day. Also a hat with the humuhumunukunukuapua'a fish embroidered on it and a starfish earlier in the week. But the tulips were so beautiful to me. Everyone thinks that flowers are cliche for Valentine's Day, but I can't think of any year where I've received flowers on that day. So I was particularly excited about these. Not to mention that I love tulips almost as much as I love yellow roses. I had a very strange dream about Jimmie last night.

Speaking of dreams, off to bed. Tonight, Friday the 13th, I am feeling happy and am in love with everything.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!