Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-14 - 3:29 p.m.

Well! Here's take two of the past couple weeks of my life. Last night I was writing and my brother got on the phone, kicking me offline and causing me to lose everything I wrote. EVERYTHING! I went downstairs to let him know that if he didn't hear a dial tone to please not make a phone call. My parents said, "He didn't know." It's like I'm back in high school again and my parents are anticipating sibling fighting.

This aside, it's nice to see my brother again. He doesn't take anything seriously and takes everything for granted, and life is a joke to him. Even when he's being annoying you can't help but laugh though, and it's nice to have him around to remind myself that all the little shit I worry about really isn't important.

I have a lot to catch up on, so I'll start with this past weekend. THE WEDDING.

Friday was the rehersal dinner as well as the bachelor/bachlorette party. The rehersal dinner was a great time, and I saw a lot of people I haven't seen in a long time, such as Chuck, Liz, and Sam. I also talked with Nathan and his girlfriend for awhile, and it was very plesant. Unfortunately we all split up to go to our assigned party, and let me say that if the bachelor party was a cheeseburger cooked and seasoned to perfection, the bachelorette party was a tomato. I hate tomatos. I tried valiently to have a good time, and our time at the sculpture garden was very nice. The bar that we went to, however, was no fun for me. I'm not a big fan of crowded and smokey bars where you have to shout to be heard to begin with, unless I'm really in a partying mood. THIS bar was particularly special however in that a) it was a polka bar with live polka music (???) and b) 3 charter busses of frat boys got off their busses and went into the bar about 5 minutes before we got there. Furthermore, I felt a little strained in the company of these women, who were all talking about places I've never been and people I've never met.

Now, I'm not saying that I couldn't have had a good time, because I believe you can have a good time anywhere. I'm just saying that the lack of comrade-ship didn't make it any easier for me, when I was in a place I already didn't want to be in and when I was also kind of bummed about not going with the other party, who went to Canterbury and Mystic Lake. Polka bar vs gambling.. hmmm...

So, I fell asleep at the bar and felt bad about being anti social, since I knew with the people I went with they would never remember the previous 3 hours of me smiling inanely in an attempt to try/look like I was enjoying myself and only remember me being tired and not contributing anything to the party mode. And in any event, it looked as though Katie had a great time, and that's what's important. I apologized the next day for my poor behavior. The next day being of course

THE WEDDING

I spent the morning going to pick up a bottle of wine for the couple and, on a whim, stopped to look to see if they had some nice bottle openers at Ridgedale. They didn't have what I was looking for, but I did notice that Riedel stemware was on sale. What a combo! Wine and Riedel! It's not something they'll use in Africa, or even something they would have bought for themselves, but hey! what are presents for... I hope they enjoy them. I know Tony appreciates fine wine, in any event.

I also stopped at Best Buy to buy a tape recorder. as well as talk to the sales people about fine stereo equipment. I have a mind to get my folks some VERY NICE stereo equipment for their 25th wedding anniversary. They've done so much for my brother and I over the years, I figure after 25 years it's the least I can do to show my gratitude. They really are the best parents.

Unfortunately after all these stops, I found myself running behind, and in the process of making the wedding card managed to lose a green pen and my glue stick. I spent hours looking for them yesterday. My fault for leaving them on the kitchen counter; anything left out and about for more than 2 hours gets cleaned up. Cleaned up means gone forever.

I made it to the chapel on time, after having to turn back once to get the proper shoes. I was to be a reader and I was nervous about it. But it ended up going well. I looked over the text breifly before the wedding started, which helped. Tony's mom made these beautiful wedding programs that I was very impressed with. Katie's mom played the saxophone very, very well. And the wedding party was beautiful. Each bridesmade wore a different color and style of dress, and the effect was lovely. Katie's wedding dress "put all other wedding dresses to shame" as Jacob put it. She bought it at the farmer's market, and it was very Katie. Arne and I sat next to each other and watched the whole thing. The service was the shortest Catholic wedding I've ever been to, but for Katie and Tony, a short wedding made sense. Furthermore, the priest called Tony "Tom" and then "Todd" and finally "Tony" after everyone yelled out "Tony! it's TONY!!"

It was all wonderful.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!