Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-30 - 1:45 p.m.

I forgot to mention. Today is St. Michael's feast day, also known as Michaelmas. A few years ago the church added St. Gabriel and St. Raphael to it, making it sort of an archangel feast day. St. Raphael is my patron saint. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Catholicism, when you get confirmed, you pick a saint who becomes your patron saint. This saint becomes sort of a buddy up in heaven for you, someone to pray to and help guide you. Their name is also added onto yours: hence my full name, Heather Marie Raphael Sweetser. I sort of cheated and claimed an Archangel as my patron saint, which is a little unusual, but it still counts since the church consideres angels to also be saints. I have a fondness for angels. The movie The Prophecy really kicked off my love for them. I researched angels and angel lore in high school, what different cultures thought of them, and how they're looked upon, including the extensive documentation the Catholic Church has on angels. Maybe some day I'll write something extensive about them. Right now, I have to go to work. I did bake some brownies to celebrate today, my patron saint's feast day.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!