Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-16 - 1:06 p.m.

Saturday night after I got off work, Jon and his sister came over to my apartment and from there we all went down to the Metro. After a little bit, two more of Jon's friends came down and we all sat around drinking and talking.

The Metro is a coffee bar/regular bar that I used to go to quite often. It's where Jake and I first got drunk together. It's where I watched the president's address on September 11th, since Jake and I couldn't afford TV then.

(I'll never forget being there with a bunch of other people, everyone standing or sitting at the bar, silent or having hushed conversation, all of us waiting for the address. A ticker tape message at the bottom said that people are gathering around televisions in stores, at work, and in bars all across the nation. Everone in the bar just kind of looked around and nodded at each other. For some reason, I've never felt prouder to be an American.)

I used to judge what day of the week it was based on what specials were at The Metro.

Saturday night was the first time I'd been back in over a year.

It was a fun time. Jon's sister is a neat person, despite the idea I had in my head that I was meeting the in-laws by meeting her, and I was a little uncomfortable. Since we are in Georgia, and bars close early Saturday nights (heaven forbid anyone drinks too much after midnight, on into **SUNDAY**!), I invited them over to my apartment, and we played the funnest game in the world, Loaded Questions. I haven't laughed so much around a group of people in awhile. After I got over my self-imposed uncomfortableness (which didn't last long) it was very easy to be "social." My never ending quest to relate to other human beings seems to be going well. Jon's sister invited me to watch movies with her over my break, even. Why can't I remember her name?

On the other side of things, I seem to be starting to alienate the people I work with and used to hang out with. I'm not sure why I stopped being called for things, but I think it has to do with the fact the last few times I hung around them, I was crabby about issues not related to them. Also my beret was put in the freezer and I was annoyed, not because my beret was in the freezer, but the way they went about it was not amusing to me.

The people I work with are so spoiled. They never have to work a full work week and they expect not to have to. I get hit out myself, but I feel like I'm the only one who appreciates it. Maybe because I'm the only one who remembers that you used to be made to feel guilty to even go to the bathroom, let alone get off work early. We NEVER got off work early. EVER.

Something strange today is that I went out to the Pizza Joint for lunch with Donald. That in itself is not strange, but the weather I experienced during lunch certainly was. When we walked in, it was hot and sunny, with some fluffy white cute summer clouds. When we walked out, it was pouring down rain. Big fat drops, and many of them. We both said "whoa" or some other unexpected ! word. After running out to my van, I noticed that everything to the left of me was sunny and just a few white clouds. Directly over me was where the big cloud's edge was. To my right was grey, dark skys. I drove home like this, except the sunny sky was on the right, the grey sky on the left, and the road and me right in the middle. Eventually it stopped raining where I was driving, and when I got to my apartment, it was all sunny skies. It has not rained here at my apartment at all.

I don't live very far from the Pizza Joint. Maybe 10 minutes.

Jamie told me a long time ago that he was once at the edge of a storm, where he could stand in one place and be rained on, but then moved over to the side and was not rained on. He said you could see the rain curtain. I've always wanted that to happen to me, and I was excited because I thought today might finally be the day. But then I started daydreaming and missed the point when I drove out of the rain. Sometimes I think Jamie was just full of shit. We were about 15 when he told me that. I still think about it though.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!