Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-06 - 9:38 p.m.

My great uncle has 37 nieces and nephews. This is only my father's generation, and does not include my own. Needless to say, I met a lot of relatives at the family reunion.

I have to admit that I don't feel like writing right now. I've taken to writing in a moleskine journal, something I picked up in the town nearby Cacapon State Park, the location of our aforementioned family reunion. (note: Cacapon is pronounced ka-CAY-pon, not ka-ka-pahn) It has proved useful while traveling thus far.

I have to say that the Madison in Washington D.C. is the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The service was par none. The only problem I had was trying to order room service from someone who didn't speak English very well. Perhaps the fault was mine in not speaking correct English myself.

Viewing the monuments at an advanced age of 24 was remarkable, especially when comparing the last time I saw them at the age of 16 or so. I was particularly impressed with the World War Two memorial. It brought a tear to my eye. Lately I've been feeling quite lachrymose. Everything moves me to tears and intense emotion.

Currently I'm waiting for Jimmie to come home from work. I had a fabulous day of doing almost nothing. I played darts; watched Star Wars; did a load of laundry; walked down the street to get some quarters for laundry when I realized all I had were nickels, dimes, and hundred dollar bills; attempted to teach myself to play hackey sack. It was quite nice, but tomorrow I think I'll venture out and do something else. It's kind of strange to be here in Augusta and not have my cats with me. I recall many days like this in Augusta, except I was alone in the mornings too, alone except for my cats. They would watch TV with me and share my dinner. I don't have need of their company so much in Minnesota, and it's nice to be reminded of their much needed companionship at an earlier time in my life.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!